Where You Can U-Pick In Western Mass Farms

Why should the farmers have all the fun harvesting the fresh fruits and vegetables from their own farms? U-pick farms abound in the Pioneer Valley. Strawberry season has mostly gone by, but blueberries are ripe for the pickin’, and it won’t be long before apple season hits us. Below is a list of farms where you can grab your own produce. These farms have pick-your-own that is open to the public, but some area farms allow members access to the fields with purchase of a farm share, as well. It’s always a good idea to call ahead to make sure they are open, as many of the farms are only open for u-pick on weekends or at certain times. And don’t forget that sunscreen.

Blue = Open Now; Red = Open Soon

 

U-Pick Open Now

Art’s Farm 81 Parker St., East Longmeadow (413) 783-1909 Blueberries, flowers

Bashista Orchards 160 East St., Southampton (413) 527-9091 http://www.gotcider.net Cherries, apples (late-August)

The Benson Place 182 Flagg Hill Road, Heath (413) 337-5340 http://www.bensonplace.org Blueberries

Blue Heaven Blueberry and Raspberry Farm 246 Skyline Trail, Middlefield (413) 623-8846 peaseproject@aol.com Raspberries, blueberries (August)

Bug Hill Farm 502 Bug Hill Road, Ashfield (413) 628-3980 http://www.bughillfarm.org Black currants, black raspberries, red raspberries and blueberries (August)

Cook’s Farm Orchard 106 Haynes Hill Road, Brimfield (413) 245-3241 http://www.cooksfarmorchard.com Blueberries, apples (September)

Couch Brook Farm 184 Couch Brook Road, Bernardston (413) 648-9659 http://www.couchbrookfarm.com Blueberries

Dickinson Farm & Greenhouse 309 E State St., Granby (413) 467-3794 http://www.dickinsonsfarm.com Raspberries, blueberries (on New Ludlow Road), apples (at 134 South St., opens in the fall)

Kenburn Orchards 1394 Mohawk Trail, Shelburne (413) 625-6116 http://www.kenburnorchards.com Blueberries

Kosinski Farms 420 Russelville Road, Westfield (413) 572-4344 http://www.kosinskifarms.com Blueberries, apples (late August)

Manda Farm 25 Pleasant St., Plainfield (413) 634-5333 http://www.mandafarm.com Raspberries

Mountain Pasture Farm 818 Surriner Road, Becket (413) 623-6455 ellsworthrs@verizon.net Blueberries

Park Hill Orchard 82 Park Hill Road, Easthampton (413) 303-0335 http://www.parkhillorchard.com Blueberries, blackberries, apples ( mid-August).

Quonquont Farm 9 North St., Whately (413) 575-4680 http://www.quonquont.com Blueberries, flowers, peaches (August), apples (late-August)

Upinngil Farm 411 Main Road, Gill (413) 863-4431 http://www.upinngil.com Flowers, Raspberries (August)

Walnut Hill Farm 35 Gibbs Road, Blandford (413) 848-2113 cbrown4j@gmail.com Blueberries

Wandering Brook Farm 446 Country Club Road, Greenfield (941) 769-1463 pnckuz@comcast.net Blueberries

West Granville Blueberries 448 North Lane, Granville (413) 357-8829 http://www.westgranvilleberries.com Blueberries

Wilder Hill Gardens 351 S. Shirkshire Road, Conway (413) 625-9446 http://www.wilderhillgardens.com Blueberries, pears (September)

U-Pick Opening Soon

Apex Orchards 225 Peckville Road, Shelburne (413) 625-2744 http://www.apexorchards.com Apples and peaches (August)

Atlas Farm 218 Greenfield Road, South Deerfield (413) 397-3587 http://www.atlasfarm.com Flowers (late-August)

Austin Brothers Valley Farm 270 West St., Belchertown (413) 668-6843 http://www.austinsfarm.com Pumpkins (September)

Clarkdale Fruit Farms 303 Upper Road, Deerfield (413) 772-6797 http://www.clarkdalefruitfarms.com Apples (September)

Echo Hill Orchards & Winery 101 Wilbraham Road, Monson (413) 267-3303 http://www.echohillorchards.com Apples and Pumpkins (September)

Howden Farm 303 Rannapo Road, Sheffield (413) 229-8481 http://www.howdenfarm.com Pumpkins (September)

Kielbasa Orchards 290 Bay Road, Hadley (413) 455-6687 http://www.kielbasaorchards.com Apples (September)

New Salem Preserves 67 South Main St., New Salem 978-544-3437 http://www.newsalempreserves.com Apples (September)

Outlook Farm 136 Main Road,  Westhampton (413) 529-9388 http://www.outlookfarm.com Apples (September)

Phoenix Fruit Farm 249 Sabin St., Belchertown (413) 213-1414 http://www.phoenixfruitfarm.com Apples (September)

Pine Hill Orchards 248 Greenfield Road, Colrain (413) 624-3325 http://www.pinehillorchards.com Apples (September)

Red Fire Farm 7 Carver St., Granby (413) 467-7645 http://www.redfirefarm.com Cherry tomatoes, husk cherries, hot peppers, green beans, and herbs (August)

Sentinel Farm 37 Cottage St., Belchertown (413) 323-7368 http://www.sentinelfarm.com Apples (September)

Small Ones Farm 416 Bay Road, Amherst (413) 253-6788 http://www.smallonesfarm.com Apples (September)

SOURCE: Community Involved in Sustaining Agriculture (CISA)

Share This Post On

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest stories and posts from the Advocate. 


You have Successfully Subscribed!